Mira Discloses the Names of Taxpayers in Default

Maldives Inland Revenue Authority (MIRA) has disclosed the names of the businesses that are defaulting on Business Profit Tax and individuals that failed to submit the Income Tax Statement on 1st November 2022.

The tax administration body disclosed the names of those who have not submitted income tax for the period of 2020-2020 and non-payment of BPT for the ongoing tax period of 31st December 2019. As such, a total of 393 parties have been named in the list published by MIRA.

- Advertisement -

The authority revealed the names from the list will be removed once the due payments are settled. If taxpayers are unable to pay the tax due in one lump sum during this period, the amount can be paid in installments under the installment plan.

MIRA has now started taking additional measures under its enforcement policy to recover unpaid taxes and other amounts due to the state. MIRA has asked those who have not yet submitted their tax returns to do so or enter into a tax payment agreement with the authority.

- Advertisement -