President Constitutes ‘Police Board’

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has constituted the Police Board, as per section 75(a) of the recently enacted Police Service Act (Law No. 34/2020).

The following members were appointed to the board on Friday, April 9, 2021.

- Advertisement -

1. Ahmed Fayaz Hassan
2. Aishath Noora Mohamed
3. Ali Faiz
4. Ahmed Nashid
5. Adam Ibrahim
6. Hamid Abdul Ghafoor
7. Uza Safa Shareef

President Solih ratified the Maldives Police Service Act on 27th December 2020. The Act establishes the fundamental principles, guidelines, roles and other aspects concerning police officers, aiming to streamline policing in the country by ensuring adherence to the constitution. Police officers are mandated to ensure the safety of all members of the public, without any discrimination or influence, and in line with human rights best practises.

The Act also promotes professional standards within the police force and paves the way for the establishment of community-based policing services under a decentralised system of governance.

- Advertisement -